Get Your Access to All Future Courses Here!

Start Here!

Baldridge Award

What is the Baldridge Award?

The Malcolm Baldridge National Quality Award was established by the Malcolm Baldridge National Quality Improvement Act of 1987 to recognize businesses in the US for performance excellence.

The award is given by the President of the United States to help promote the importance of competing in the international business environment by using performance excellence standards such as continuous improvement, efficient operations, and methods that promote sharing of knowledge. Recipients must also have an exemplary organizational management system in place that promotes the organization as a leader and role model for all others.

Companies that have received the Baldridge Award include:

  • Motorola in 1988
  • Xerox Corporation in 1989
  • Federal Express and IBM in 1990
  • Texas Instruments in 1992
  • Merrill Lynch Credit Corp. in 1997
  • Boeing in 1998
  • University of Wisconsin-Stout in 2001
  • Sunny Fresh Foods in 2005
  • City of Coral Springs, FL in 2007
  • Cargill in 2008
  • Honeywell in 2009
  • Nestle Purina PetCare in 2010

Note: Not the complete list.