Start Here!


What is Muda?

Muda means simply, waste. More specifically, this is the waste found when resources are expended yet no real value is offered to the customer or consumer. Working from the original 7 Wastes as defined by Toyota executive Taiichi Ohno, these wastes have been expanded to include an 8th Waste often found in business today.

The 8 Deadly Wastes are (think ‘TIM WOOUD‘):

1. Transportation – Iincludes unnecessary movement and transportation of goods along any point of the value stream.

2. Inventory – This is material and goods awaiting processing or movement between work stations (WIP).

3. Motion – Any excessive movement taken by employees to process goods. This can include physical movement of arms, walking, bending, etc. 

4. Waiting – Could be waiting for parts from a previous operation; waiting for people at a work station; or waiting for tools/tooling.

5. Over-production – Involves producing/manufacturing goods that have no assigned orders to them. This means that product is built for inventory instead of a customer.

6. Over-processing – an example would include the expectation for In-Process Inspection (IPI) where a redesign of the manufacturing process could eliminate the IPI altogether.

7. Under-utilized People – This latest addition to the (7) Wastes is related to skill sets – those with skills that are not properly used. The result is boredom and indifference to ones duties.

8. Defects – Any and all failures found on a part/good that results in a necessary but unscheduled Quality inspection or Rework. Or, anything the customer believes they received that they did not pay for.


Muri Mura Muda and the 8 Wastes

Muri Mura Muda and the 8 Wastes